Monday, 12 May 2014

...and back again...

How annoying it was to be sick.  It happens and there's nothing to be done but to just get better and just try again.  

On Wednesday last week, I went to meet a friend and her cultural group to hear a talk.  I wasn't at all feeling chipper.  I came home and promptly wrapped myself in 2 blankets.  I was feeling shivery and cold and my throat was sore.  Though the shivery feeling left me the next day, I still had a sore throat and just thought it was better to rest.  I always find it quite strange when people work out when they are sick.  I just feel the body has only so much energy and when one is sick, that energy needs to be conserved and used to get better.

The weekend was definitely better, but I still took it easy.  Now it's Monday and I'm back in action.  Except for something stupid - I took a shower right after getting up when I would try to work out first.  Still, I can do something.  I plan to do some yoga stretches with my Wii and take a walk later.  Though the skies look like they will pour down with rain!

Tuesday, 6 May 2014

Around... and back again

I definitely learnt a few things these past few days.  Number one - it's impossible to blog my food intake every day.  I thought I could remember, but don't.  I started an actual journal yesterday to write down what I'm eating and also my work outs. 

Since writing the last post, I've had a few cheat meals... Oh, it's hard to keep track on the weekend but I will need to learn.  I've had a few achievements also.  I ate my salads, but also had a McDonalds.  Bad.  I had three days off from working out, but also went on two walks - one about 6 k leisurely and the other about 12 k also leisurely.  When I've had a dessert earlier in the day (after lunch, for example), I don't have one after dinner.  I used to think nothing of it before.  

So instead of trying to remember what happened Thursday to Sunday, let's recap yesterday (Monday) and so far, what's happened today.

Yesterday I didn't do anything physical - not even my Wii.  

Breakfast - shake made from hazelnut milk, ice, handful of berries, 1 banana, a protein powder and about 2 Tbsp of plain yogurt.

Mid morning - small teacup of coffee and milk

Lunch - large salad w approx 5.3 oz turkey breast.  Dark chocolate - 1 finger length and width.

Dinner - measured 91 g of dry pasta.  Cooked it and mixed it w approx 2 Tbs pesto.  That was around 5.  I also ate around 9.  Looking back, I really didn't need to.  I had a med portion of salad and about 2 oz turkey breast.  

Snack - pear sometime in the afternoon.

Today:
Pre breakfast work out:  Jillian Michael's 30 Day Shred Level 1.  Gosh, that was hard to get my act together for that workout and I was lagging all throughout.

Breakfast - bowl of Muesli w around 14 berries, milk and 1 banana.  

2nd Workout - though I wouldn't really call it a work out per se.  I did a run/walk around my neighbourhood.  I installed something called "Sports Tracker" on my phone and so far, so good.  Here are my stats:
     Duration:  14:29 min
     Distance:  1.73 km
     Av pace:   8:22 km
     Av speed: 7.2 km/hr
     Energy:    110 kcal


Wow, I just found out kcal and cal are the same.  I was thinking if there was a 1000 conversion rate, that would really be strange!

I also started taking vitamins.  To some, it may seem like a lot but I'm hoping it works for me.  I take 1 multi vitamin, 2 vitamin E, 1 cod liver oil and 1 folic acid.  In part, I started doing that b/c of my skill.  It's dry and flaking and I really don't know what else (besides lathering Vaseline all over it) to do.  I'm not perfect - I do eat crap, I love french fries, but salads are normal for me.  Drinking water is normal.  Portion control is normal.  Hopefully the vitamins will help.  

So, all in all, week 1 almost complete.  I feel pretty good.  I don't know if it's my imagination, but I also feel my body changing - getting harder.  I used to do boot camps and that was when I saw the most changes, but I think my body's gotten jelly-like.  The other day, I touched my arm accidentally and thought "wow...".

 

Tuesday, 29 April 2014

"Embrace hunger..."
        - Oprah

"What gets measured, gets done"
        - Curt Allison, my old boss

I remember listening to Oprah one time when she was talking about her weight loss journey and someone told her to get used to being hungry.  I just thought it was so funny until today when I seriously thought of strategies to lose weight...embrace hunger!  The old me would have never'd!

This is my blog and while I could start my weight loss journey without writing about it, I think it will help keep me accountable.  I've read tidbits in magazines and websites about keeping a food and fitness journal and in addition to doing that here, I want to keep myself accountable to my other goals as well.  

So let's go:

Today, I'm officially starting.  I am not doing anything really drastic this week than just starting to exercise and really question what I eat.  I'm not denying myself anything that I really want except to eat it in lesser portion.  Today I wanted an ice cream.  I walked to the ice cream shop and got a small scoop of Amerena.  Good thing I live in Europe cause in N America, a small scoop is a big scoop here!  

Breakfast:  bowl of Muesli w 2 large Tbsps of plain yogurt and a Tbsp of honey w half milk and half hazelnut milk.  Also a cup of builder's tea sweetened w honey.

Lunch: a smaller portion of what I had yesterday for dinner. 


It's a simple concoction of rice noodles, and a bunch of veggies stir fried.  I used plain ole cooking oil, a Knorr veggie herb pot, garlic, ginger and a bit of hot chili flakes for the sauce.  Not bad.  Basic.


Snacks:  small glass of OJ, 1 ice cream

Dinner:  nothing yet, but my tummy is calling for it.  I think I'm going to do my best to wait until 7.  The days are longer and if I eat too early, I know I'll be crazy starving by bedtime.  I know I'll have the rest of the noodles and the rest of the salad I made yesterday.




Exercises today:  Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred Level 1.


Getting real:  Here are my stats.  I am 5'4 1/2 inches tall and today, according to my Wii Fit, I am 72 kg.  That's about 158 lbs.  Honestly, I thought I was heavier.  Living in Europe now, everything is in metric and even though I am from Canada, we use the Imperial system very often.  I knew my weight but sometimes I think I'm something like 170 but I think I get mixed up with the kgs.  

Today I tried on a skirt that was made for me last summer.  It is loose fitting.  Now, I don't honestly recall if it was loose fitting last year, but since it was made for me, I can't imagine it was.  Today, I could stick my whole hand in the waistband - it's got that much room. That was a good motivator.  

Measurement-wise, I am

Bust:                                      39 inches
Waist:                                    35
Hips:                                      38
Thighs: (extended straight):      21 inches at widest point
Arms (extended straight):         11 inches at widest point


I've added my goal to Wii which is to lose, I think, 3.5 kgs in one month - by the end of May.  I am not sure if that is realistic for me but I know from, again, reading websites and magazines, 2lbs a week is the maximum weight that is healthy to lose for the average person.  

So according to Wii, I am overweight.  I really have no excuse as right now, I have minimal responsibilities.  

Here's my goals for the week:
1.  Jillian and I have a date - every day.  I am sore from the workout today but I need to keep going w the workout.  It's only 20 minutes, not including the warm ups.  I think Sunday will be my rest day.

2.  Organize my work out clothes.  I need to know what I have and what I need (probably not much, since I'm mostly working out at home.  I could work out naked!)

3. Wii Fit.  I love that little system.  It's fun and silly and does keep me motivated.  I need to do at least 4 yoga moves a day and 2 activities a day.  This week, I am also going to try the Zumba class.

4. Read my fitness magazines.  They really are motivating.  

5.  Keep blogging, keep track of my food and fitness. 

Why do I want to lose weight?  Well, for obvious reasons.  Yes, it would be nice to fit into smaller clothes.  Yes, for health reasons, it's the best thing one can do for themselves.  But I guess for me, since turning 40, I've been at a bit of a crisis.  I've moved away w Randell, married him and told, virtually only a handful of people.  Friends, not family.  I am struggling finding my way in Berlin.  I want to live a good life.  A full life and most importantly, I want to live a life with grace.  I haven't been doing that at all really.  I don't want to live out the rest of my 40s and move into my later years without all the baggage.  I want to work towards being the best, to looking the best that I can, to put whatever baggage I carried with me in my 40s away and be happy.  

That's why this blog is not just about losing weight.  It's about creating and finding me.  It's about being a better partner to R.  It's about looking for new adventures and taking on new opportunities.  

Search This Blog